Unity in the Community

I wanted to talk a little about the recent suicides over the past couple of weeks.  For those of you who aren’t aware, there have been FIVE homosexual teenagers who have committed suicide over the last three weeks from bullying at their schools. This unbelievably tragic news needs to be shared; it is a wake up call for the hatred and intolerance rampantly taking over too many lives.

Since I’ve moved out of my small town, and to a bigger city, it’s still not easy for me to forget about some of the ignorance I grew up around, and my heart goes out to anyone who is suffering from it.  I had gay friends in school who had to deal with some of the heartbreaking cruelty that comes from being different.  Not only did my gay friends experience this hatred, but many of my straight friends who dressed differently or listened to different kinds of music also went through this kind of hell.  I promise, there are so many people out there who have been through these experiences, and there are so many resources out there for anyone who needs to talk.

Tyler Clementi, Seth Walsh, Asher Brown, Raymond Chase, and Billy Lucas were all students who felt like they had no other way out.  Two of these kids were only 13 years old.  I just want to say to all the high school kids out there, that I promise, things get better. Separate yourself from the sea of sameness, and be proud of who you are.  You are a better person for staying true to yourself.

The Youtube movement started by gay columnist Dan Savage is becoming massively popular, with 200 videos already added.  He is encouraging folks to upload their own videos talking about not only how they grew up and the problems they faced, but also how they are better for the experience.  The campaign is called “It Gets Better”, and there are some really moving stories.

Pass the link along to whoever you know that needs support, whoever has a story to share, or anyone who can relate.

I also wanted to share this link to the Be True Campaign, which is all about standing up for your right to be wonderfully unique.  If you need anyone to talk to, please reach out to any of the people in this group.  Join whether you are gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, or a straight ally.  We need more unity in our community.

Here is a list of organizations that cater to gay, lesbian, bi and trans sexual people who need support (Compiled by another wordpress member).

I also wanted to post a message on the crisis from The Ellen Degeneres show, but embedding is disabled, so please watch the video here:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Br7nbQSIyhg&feature=player_embedded

All my love.

9 responses to “Unity in the Community

  1. This is a great post anj

  2. This is amazing!!!

  3. how are you!This was a really outstanding topic!
    I come from itlay, I was luck to seek your theme in digg
    Also I learn much in your website really thanks very much i will come later

  4. Its people like you that make others stop and think.

  5. Well said…thanks for making me stop and think.

  6. Excellent topic! How in the world did we get so intollerant? I love the idea of separating ourselves from the sea of sameness, very powerful words.

  7. Pingback: Fully Flared | Hey Bud, Lets Party!

Leave a Reply

