The Hobbit

For those of you who don’t know me personally, I’d like to share a fun fact:  my favorite novel of all time is The Hobbit.  My dad bought me the book after we saw The Lord of the Rings in theaters, and it’s one of the few books I brought to Chicago with me.

Now, anyone who has actually read The Hobbit can attest to the fact that the first fifty pages or so are just about the longest pages in history.  As a matter of fact, I was so bored with the first chapter that I didn’t finish it until I was a senior in high school.

Since then, of course, I have read, loved, studied, and fell in love with The Lord of the Rings.  All the buzz about the new film that is supposed to be released in a couple years has me all hot and bothered.

While the film has gone through many directors, it’s looking like Peter Jackson will be involved in writing the screenplay (as it should be!), along with Guillermo Del Toro, Philippa Boyens, and Fran Walsh.  Then there’s of course the fact that Tolkien will be credited as a writer as well. Del Torro was one of the thousand people in line to direct the film, but he has since backed out.

Ian McKellen will of course be returning to Middle Earth to play Gandalf, but the rest of the cast is all just rumors for now.  According to The One Ring, nobody is still sure who will be playing Bilbo.  Among the whispers of actors include Martin Freeman, Daniel Radcliffe, and even Tobey Macguire.  Personally, I love Daniel, but I don’t think he’s necessarily got what it takes to be the star.  He’s proved that he is a good actor, but the Potter hype will just be dying down so I’m thinking: what if he gets too cocky?

Who would you guys like to see?  Who else is SUPER psyched?

Leave a Reply

