I ship Rory/Jess

So, do any of you kiddos hang out on forums? I’m not sure how many of you are hip to the idea of “shipping”, but I want to share with you my favorite couple. “Shipping” is a fandom term, short for relationship. It’s often times the basis of fanfiction or fan art involving two characters from a book, film or tv show being in a relationship.

There are two kids of ships– the kind that are legitimate and already formed, and the kinds that are unlikely, improbable, or even impossible. For example, me shipping Jess and Rory (of Gilmore Girls) is one that the writers of the show already imagined, and, anyway, I’ve been watching a lot of Gilmore Girls lately, seasons 2 and 3, and it’s making me all romantic.

I first fell in love with Milo Ventimiglia on season 2 of Gilmore Girls. In a few episodes, he had stolen my heart completely. I got into heroes a little bit, but he really shines in this show.

The chemistry between the two of them is some of the most youthful, sweeping, romantic of all the teen romances on television.  You find yourself making justifications for Rory’s infidelities towards Dean as the seasons go on, because every girl needs a bad boy at some point.  You can’t help but love him, and it’s not just the writing, this show is filled with good acting.  Did you know the average Gilmore Girls script is double what most hour long sitcoms are, because of the fast paced dialogue?

So, who do you all ship? Harry Potter, I would guess? Come on, let out your inner fan girl.

2 responses to “I ship Rory/Jess

  1. i love them together!! jess will be always my favourite guy for rory. they’re made for each other!

    i watch a lot of tv, and it’s hard to find a show as unique as this one, with such a lovely characters… it’s impossible not fell in love with them! and it made me discover a lot of great music, movies and books.

  2. I love Gilmore Girls! And I liked Rory and Jess together. Mainly because that left Dean for me. =)

Leave a Reply

