The Best Movies

Hello readers, I hope you’re enjoying your summers.  I have spent the past few days reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin.  She is also the author of the wildly inspirational blog– The Happiness Project. She is inspiring me to stop fighting my nature…

I really, really like to make lists.  When I was in high school, I kept a small notebook full of random lists; playlists, my favorite memories, shows I’d seen, things to look forward to, etc.  I think that list making should be a vital component of my blog.  Nerdythings is still a baby, so I’m still learning.  I think I will try to do a weekly list.

I’m going to start with a classic, and I’d love to hear your own versions of this list in the comments.

AHEM.  My favorite movies: (right now)

1.  The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
2.  Star Trek (2009)
3.  In the Land of Women
4.  Fanboys
5.  Annie Hall
6.  Practical Magic
7.  Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince
8.  Into the Wild
9.  The Art of Traveling
10.  Star Wars Episodes II (shut up) and IV

Writing that list took me a long time.  That’s why I cheated on number ten.  I very nearly had a couple breakdowns.  Choosing ten movies for which to proclaim my love and then not even mentioning the rest?  What about the movies I watched until the VHS tape was too hot to touch?  What about those films that I put on every single time I stayed home sick throughout grade school?  What about the ones that made me cry?  Or the ones with good looking casts?  What a cruel post…

Movies that came really close: (Is this cheating? Don’t care.)


Okay, I’m done now.

7 responses to “The Best Movies

  1. So the girl on the far left of the Knocked Up picture totally looks like you…from this picture anyway. I feel like in the actual movie she didn’t though. Haha.

    I guess we’re not talking but I still read your blog and it’s not as good.

    Oh yeah, and I still have an Alaska shirt for you. 😦

  2. I mean that reading your blog isn’t as good as talking to you. In case that wasn’t clear. Hahaha.

  3. Is that Knocked Up and the Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood? Great movies.

  4. I am really glad that In The Land Of Women made the cut.

  5. aaahh, I love it when I come across fellow list makers. As for your movie choices, I’m not a huge Star Trek fan but I LOVED the 2009 Star Trek movie. HP and the HBP was definitely the best HP film so far (which leaves me with very high hopes for the one opening in Nov.). Into the Wild, for me, was one of those movies that I thought was great when I saw it but I don’t ever want to see it again – too heartbreaking.

  6. I saw the nice mention of my book, The Happiness Project, here! I very much appreciate those kind words and you shinning a spotlight on my work!! Thanks and best wishes,
    Gretchen

  7. Gah… “Moon”…I’m still not quite sure how I feel about that. Such a great movie but I really feel like the whole “twist” to it was sort of cheating in a way.

Leave a Reply

