Jay Baruchel

So, a couple of weeks ago I finally saw a movie that I have been wanting to see for a long time now… Fanboys.  When it came out in 2008, it didn’t make a huge splash, but it boasts a really impressive cast.  It stars Jay Baruchel, Dan Fogler, Chris Marquette, and Sam Huntington, and Kristen Bell!

Cameos from (Take a breath!)
-Seth Rogen
-Carrie Fisher
-Billy Dee Williams
-William Shatner
-Kevin Smith
-Danny Trejo
-Danny Mcbride

Basically, Windows (Baruchel) and three of his friends (One with a terminal illness) make plans to go and steal the new Star Wars: Episode I movie from Skywalker Ranch 6 months before it is supposed to hit theatres.  The story line reminded me a lot of Without a Paddle, but vastly more entertaining.  The writing is a little weak, especially when it comes to character development and even dialogue in some points, but that doesn’t stop the scene after scene hilarity.  (My favorite is the Star Wars fanboys vs. the Trekkies)

I don’t know how many of you are fans of Mr. Baruchel, but if you haven’t seen anything he’s done besides Knocked Up, you are seriously missing out.  Granted, I admit to being biased since I think he’s super foxy, but he’s still made some gems (Save for She’s out of my League, which I couldn’t be more uninterested in.) Lets take a look at his highlights:

First of all, let me start with my favorite movie… I’m Reed Fish.
, starring Jay and Alexis Bledel.  It’s just a really simple movie made in only eight days about a boy in a small town, and the messiness of life.  You might not laugh out loud all that often, but if you’re from a small town, you can probably relate to at least one of the characters.  No part of this movie is unrealistic or overreaching, and when it’s over I even feel a little inspired.  I never get tired of watching it, because it’s quirky and heartfelt at the same time.

Next we have films like Knocked Up, which is one of everybody’s favorites… right?  I personally think the best parts of the movies. are the ones about Seth Rogen’s life… his roommates, his habits, etc.  One of the best opening sequences ever.  Every time I watch it all I can think about is how I would love to be friends with those guys.  Romantic and funny and silly and feel-good, and let me just stop myself here.  Guys, please, if you only take one thing away from this blog, PLEASE go and see Knocked Up.

Anyway, then we also have Tropic Thunder.
, which I think Jay was really underrated in, his neurosis throughout the film adds a necessary realistic element.  Also, I appreciate it because even though I really dislike action movies, I got into this for real.  It has a really good mix of honest to goodness action and parody.

Then… we have Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist… which, I can say with confidence, Jay was the only good part of.  He played Norah’s ex boyfriend, remember?  The reason I liked this part of his was because it was basically the first time he didn’t play a nerdy awkward guy, I totally bought his role of the tough guy.  Swoon.

Oh!  Speaking of movies that he was the only worthwhile part of… a little film called Rules of Attraction featured a couple secenes with Jay as a college freshman who is rushed to the ER in one scene by his loyal group of gay friends for drinking too many wine coolers and taking Sudafed.  Do me a favor, skip the movie, just go watch this clip instead.  It’s really funny.

Back in 2002/2003, a little TV series called Undeclared lasted for one season, starring Jay Baruchel and his friends in their \freshman year of college.  WHY did this show get cancelled?! The story line was a little all over the place, but it had endless possibilities.  I think that if the show was around now, on the WB or something, it might have a chance.  Jay’s character is obsessed with getting a girlfriend, while his friends are obsessed with getting laid.  Golden.  You can watch the series through Netflix, and if you happen to be a college student, I’d suggest giving it a watch.  Sort of like a Boy Meets World with more sex…

Next on my to do list is to see his upcoming film with Nicholas Cage… The Sorcerer’s Apprentice, which opens in theaters July 14.  Check out the trailer here.

For those of you who aren’t in love with him… how do you think he does as an actor?  Has anyone seen She’s out of my League?  Did it suck as bad as I think it will?  What about How to Train your Dragon?  Is it creepy if I write him fan mail?

3 responses to “Jay Baruchel

  1. You are so right…

  2. why dont you guys just go get married already!?

  3. this, by the way, is your longest most in depth post. just sayin.

Leave a Reply

